BRC and CR champions at Malay CC hockey Sevens

Burgher Recreation Club (BRC) and Ceylonese Rugby and Football Club (CR and FC) emerged as champions in the Invitation Sevens hockey tournament held to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Colombo Malay Cricket Club (CMCC) at the Astro Turf in Colombo.

Fifteen club teams were in action with emerging men’s champions BRC and runners-up Old Royalists SC while CR and FC emerged women’s champions with Malay Maroons as runners-up.

COSMOS Australia made their third hockey tour to Sri Lanka to make CMCC’s 150th anniversary a memorable one.

The following teams participated: Men – Malays, BRC, CH and FC, Colts, COSMOS (Australia), CR and FC, Old Bens, Old Joes, Old Royalists SC and Old Wesleyites SC; Women – Malays Maroons, Malays Greens, Colts, CR and FC and Moratuwa University.

A sudden downpour stole two hours of valuable time and the tournament was postponed to meet schedules.

The men’s and women’s finals were played under floodlights.

A memorable sight was the presence of former hockey stalwarts of the 1960s, Dr Sandy Musafer, Thajone Swangsa and Hamza Deane, doing the honors by opening the tournament in the morning in the presence of the president of the Hockey Federation of Sri Lanka ( SLHF), Vishvanathan.

Comments are closed.