CWG 2022: Everything you need to know about the newly included disciplines | 2022 Commonwealth Games News

NEW DELHI: The next edition of the Commonwealth Games 2022 should be held in the British city of birmingham from July 28 to August 8. A total of 72 countries and territories will take part in the quadrennial event this time around.
Interestingly, this will be the first time that a global multi-sport event will have more women’s events than men’s events.
This edition of CTM will also see the inclusion of new events following the withdrawal of shooting and archery from the Games. takes a look at the events newly included at the CWG in the Birmingham edition here:

(File image of the Indian women’s cricket team – Photo: BCCI Twitter)
The wait for cricket fans from Commonwealth countries to see their favorite sport in the CWG is finally over. Cricket will return to the CWG after a 24-year hiatus in a new avatar. Not only will Birmingham CWG see T20 Cricket make their Commonwealth Games debut, it will also be women’s cricket’s first-ever appearance at the Games. Cricket has already been played at the CWG once, at the Kuala Lumpur Games in 1998, where South Africa won the gold medal in the men’s 50+ competition, beating Australia in the final. India has also sent a team for these Games, with Ajay Jadeja as captain and Anil Kumble as vice-captain. Sachin Tendulkar was also in the squad, but India did not reach the semi-finals.
This time around there is no men’s cricket at the Games and women’s cricket will be played for the first time ever in a Commonwealth Games. Eight teams qualified for the event with India featuring in Group A alongside Pakistan, Australia and Barbados. Group B includes New Zealand, South Africa, England and Sri Lanka. England as hosts earned automatic qualification while Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan and Barbados are among the six direct qualifiers based on their standings as of April 1, 2021. Sri Lanka took last place as winners. of the CWG Qualifying Tournament.
The cricket competition will kick off from July 29 with India taking on Australia while the final will take place on August 7. Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham will host all matches. Matches will be played in T20 format. India is led by Harmanpreet Kaur.
The 3×3 version of Basketball was introduced to captivate audiences with its fast-paced action. The 5×5 version of the game has already been played twice at the Games, first in Melbourne in 2006 and then on the Gold Coast in 2018. The 3×3 version will be played at the Games for the first time.
The 3×3 game will be fast and furious with only half a court and a single hoop for both teams to attack. Not only has the court size been cut in half, but the time on the shot clock has also been reduced from 24 seconds (allowed in full basketball) to 12 seconds.
As the name suggests, each team will have three players and a substitute. Shots scored from inside the arc-shaped scoring area are worth one point each, while shots taken from behind the arc area will add two points to the team’s tally.
The first team to 21 points wins. If neither team manages to reach the score after ten minutes, the leading team wins. The event will be played at the Smithfield site.
Eight teams in the men’s and women’s categories will participate in the event.
Nations qualified in the men’s category for Basketball 3×3
Host: England
Regional qualification: Kenya (Africa), Canada (Americas), Sri Lanka (Asia), Trinidad and Tobago (Caribbean), New Zealand (Oceania)
Direct qualifying: Australia
Home nations qualification: Scotland
Nations qualified in the women’s category for Basketball 3×3:
Host: England
Regional qualification: Kenya (Africa), Canada (Americas), Sri Lanka (Asia), British Virgin Islands (Caribbean), New Zealand (Oceania)
Direct qualifying: Australia
Home nations qualification: Scotland


(Representative image – YOU Photo)
In addition to 3×3 basketball, the Commonwealth Games Federation also introduced the para version of the sport to the CWG roster for the first time. No wheelchair basketball discipline has been featured at the Commonwealth Games before. This event will also be held at the Smithfield site.
The International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) and the CGF announced that six wheelchair teams will participate in the CWG this time.
England, South Africa and Malaysia are placed in Men’s Group A, while Canada, Australia and Northern Ireland are drawn in Group B.
On the women’s side, Canada, Kenya and England are in Pool A, with Scotland, Australia and South Africa in Pool B.
A round-robin group stage will be followed by semi-finals and a final.


(File image of Indian Paralympic medalist Bhavinaben Patel – TOI Photo)
Para table tennis was announced as one of the sports disciplines added to the Birmingham 2022 program in August 2019. Competition will take place at the National Exhibition Center (NEC) Hall 3. Para table tennis will see 32 athletes (16 men and women each) compete in four medal events at the Games.
The qualification criteria were – five places per event determined by the ITTF Para Table Tennis Ranking List; one for the Americas/Caribbean regions combined, plus one for each of the other four CGF regions. Another place per event is determined directly by the aforementioned rankings. The last two places in each event are determined by bipartite CGF/ITTF invitations.

Comments are closed.