Elections in 33 sports federations take place on Thursday


  • … The Ministry of Sports ready for the polls

The Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development has said it is ready to hold elections in 33 federations tomorrow at the MKO Abiola National Stadium in Abuja,

It will be recalled that the ministry issued a statement on its intention to hold new elections to national sports federations after Minister Sunday Dare dissolved the federations in April and inaugurated transition committees the same month.

The sports federations which are expected to hold their elections on September 30, 2021 are: the Nigerian Swimming Federation, the Nigerian Basketball Federation, the Nigerian Boxing Federation, the Nigerian Cycling Federation, the Nigerian Shooting Federation as well as the Nigerian table tennis.

“It should be noted that other sports federations which have not yet ratified their statutes will also proceed to their elections on September 30, 2021, with the guidance provided by the ministry,” the ministry said.

Therefore, the chairman of the electoral committee, Peter Nelson, said in a statement that the ministry will hold elections in 23 federations using the 2021 electoral guidelines as approved.

“The committee is organizing elections in the 23 federations that did not yet have their own constitutions approved by their international bodies. The elections of these federations will take place according to the 2021 electoral guidelines approved by the ministry. However, 10 federations with constitutions will use it to organize their own elections, ”he said.

Nelson asserted that “the elections were conducted successfully at the zonal level and other relevant bodies such as NAWIS, NAPHER, athlete representatives, military and para-military in a free and fair manner.”

In Thursday’s elections, the presidents and vice-presidents of the various national sports federations would emerge.

There are 39 sports federations in Nigeria, of which 24 are National Olympic Sports Federations affiliated with the Nigerian Olympic Committee (NOC), while the remaining 15 are non-Olympic federations.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.