FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: host cities, teams and strategy



The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup has announced the nine host cities and ten stadiums in New Zealand and Australia that will host matches during the World Cup competition.

It has also been revealed that John Nicholl has been elected as the head of commercial revenue for the FIFA Women’s World Cup, to be held in 2023.

John Nicholl of his appointment said: “I am delighted to join the organization and help organize such a prestigious tournament. The FIFA Women’s World Cup is the premier women’s sporting event, and having the chance to host it in Australia and New Zealand and host an entertaining event for all of our stakeholders is an opportunity not to be missed.

He added, “The FIFA Women’s World Cup represents an incredible prospect for business partners, a prospect that will provide brands with an extremely exciting opportunity not only to engage and reach new audiences and communities, but also a event that will offer significant moments in football. a story that will go far beyond what is happening on the ground. I look forward to working with forward-thinking organizations that share our vision for this event.

With only about two years before the top players go head to head in the tournament jointly hosted by New Zealand and Australia.

It’s also worth mentioning that this will be the first time the Women’s World Cup has been held in the Southern Hemisphere and the very first Senior FIFA event to take place in Oceania and the very first FIFA event to take place in many confederations. .

FIFA declared the final selection of host cities and forums on March 31, 2021, for which a total of nine cities have been selected. Five cities in Australia and four cities in New Zealand.

  • Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau (New Zealand) – Eden Park (Capacity: 50,000)
  • Hamilton / Kirikiriroa (New Zealand) – Waikato Stadium (Capacity: 25,800)
  • Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara (New Zealand) – Wellington Stadium (Capacity: 34,500)

In addition, after disclosing the host cities; FIFA has also announced that the opening match will take place at Eden Park in Auckland and that for the final match it will take place at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

It has also been revealed that Australia and New Zealand will host a semi-final match with the full 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying roster set to be announced by the end of 2021.

Commenting on the selection process for host cities for the 2023 Women’s World Cup, FIFA President Gianni Infantino said:

“The nomination of the 9 host cities represents a major milestone for the upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, as well as for football players and fans in Australia, New Zealand and around the world.

He continued, “Building on the incredible success of France 2019 both on and off the pitch, the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and 9 host cities in Australia and New Zealand will not only highlight value the best female players in the world, but will also provide a powerful platform to unite and inspire people, transform lives and create a lasting legacy for women’s football in Australia, New Zealand and around the world.

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is scheduled to air from July 20 to August 20, 2023.

It has grown from 24 to 32 teams for the 2023 women’s tournament which will be co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. These 32 teams must compete in the qualifying round. Since Australia and New Zealand are the co-hosts, they are exempt and do not need to play the qualifying matches. Each country can choose to qualify through the qualification procedure of its own confederation. Such as;

  • Asian Football Confederation
  • South American Football Federation
  • Union of European Football Associations
  • Oceania Football Confederation
  • African Football Confederation
  • Confederation of North America, Central America and the Caribbean Football Association

The qualification process began on September 16, 2021 and will run until February 23, 2022. You can watch the final game on Paramount +.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.