Manlapas and Suarez lead the national interscholastic table tennis tilt FESSAP

Joshua Manlapas of Makati-NETTO and Jam Sanchez of Wadjad Tennis Tavolo were part of the Philippine team at the Jinjang World School Games after winning the boys’ and girls’ singles title at the recent 2022 FESSAP National Interscholastic Table Tennis Championship at the Robinsons Novaliches in Quezon City.

Members of the Executive Class champion team, the Triple Charles-Army, consisting of (left to right) Gregorio Pascua, George Quijano, TATAND Honorary President Charlie Lim and Julius Esposo, are shown along with the referee of the Gigi Aguinalde tournament during the award ceremony.

Manlapas beat Paco Citizen Academy Foundation’s Morison Torres 2-1 in the high school boys’ singles final, while 15-year-old Sanchez beat Adamson University’s Shyrein Mae Redoquerio 2-0 in the final. of the girls’ final of the event serving as a qualifying tournament for the PH table tennis team which will compete in the World School Games scheduled for November 20 in China.

As runners-up, Torres and Redoquerio also made the five-man national team. They will be joined by protege Kheith Rhynne Cruz, Vietnam’s 14-year SEA Games veteran, who has been pre-qualified for the team as the country’s No.

In the high school team event of the competition sponsored by Robinsons Novaliches, Joola Philippines, PAGCOR, Best Tank, Omni, Toto Pol Fish Broker, CHAWI Fishing, Paddocks, Orienting of the Philippines, Green Paddle Equipment Inc., Table Tennis Association for National Development, Dobinson, Carlson Digital Prints and Charlie Lim, Honorary Chairman of TATAND, Cruz have partnered with Jelaine Monteclaro to power the Paco Citizen Academy Foundation on La Salle University-Star Power from MJ Yamson, Zachi Chua and Janna Paculba.

Paco, consisting of Brent Chavez and Torres, completed a sweep with a victory in the boys over Dominique Henze Lucero and Jebb Jerwin Datahan of Wadjad Tennis Tavolo.

Makati-Netto (Jan Gabriel Presbitero, Matt Andrew Ramos, Ray Joshua and Lawrence Manlapaz) and One Pampanga/Bulacan (Sean Irvin Garcia, Reyan Yvess Reg) finished second.

In the varsity men’s team event, TATAND-Joola of Alexis Bolante, Rill Ramiro and Francis Bendebel beat Baycliff, consisting of Pong Mercado and Ruiz Arc Marcelino, while Perpetual-Patto, led by nationals Keziah Bien Ablaza and Jannah Romero with Rein Teodoro, won the women’s title over Wadjad Tennis Tavolo from Sherlyn Love Gabisay and Emery Faith Digamon.

Former national player and coach Julius Esposa teamed up with George Quijano, Gregorio Pascua and Charlie Lim as Triple Charles-Army defeated ACE, consisting of Philip Uy, Peter Lam, Michael Dalumpines and Henry Ding to win the Tag Team Championship TATAND veterans. .

The All-Star Legend-Army team (Aileen Armando, Susan Tayag, Anta Abas, Sendrina Balatbat) and Dobinson (Richmond Ong, Richard Koa, Rodel Valle and Jayson Jaquilmo) won second place.

Comments are closed.