Maya Stewart, Emily Robinson and Asatasi Lafai named in Wallaroos squad to face Black Ferns | Latest rugby news

Head coach Jay Tregonning has announced that a 32-man squad will travel to Christchurch to take on the Black Ferns on August 20, before returning to Adelaide to play the second game of the series on August 27 as part of a double header with the Wallabies.

Again NSW are well represented with a total of 18 Waratahs players selected in the 32-man squad.

The team’s headliner is the return of Waratahs star winger Maya Stewart in a training capacity as she recovers from an ACL injury sustained during the pre-season of the Super campaign W of this year.

Another new addition is Australian Sevens Biel spark Terita who comes into the squad after last playing in New Zealand in the Oceania Super Sevens series.

Bree-anna Cheetham, Siokapesi Palu, Melanie Wilks and Tania Nadan, who have been in previous Buildcorp Wallaroos squads but have yet to see the pitch with a gold jersey, are also looking to make their debuts.

Emily Robinson returns to the front row of Buildcorp Wallaroos alongside Liz Patu, Bree-anna Cheatham, Madison Shuck, Eva Karpani and Bridie O’Gorman.

Brumbies prostitute Tania Nadan has been named again, after her first appearance at camp leading up to The Road To New Zealand test series on the Gold Coast.

Second rower Atasi Lafai returns to the side from injury after not playing for Buildcorp Wallaroos in 2022, joining team stalwarts Michaela Leonard, Kaitlan Leaney and Sera Naiqama.

Captain Shannon Parry is also named in the back row alongside Grace Hamilton and Emily Chancellor, with key performers Piper Duck and Grace Kemp also considering a starter jersey in the series.

The squad opted for half-time experience with Iliseva Batibasaga, Layne Morgan, Arrabella McKenzie and Trilleen Pomare all named to the squad, with each player having seen international competition throughout 2022.

Newly crowned Waratahs Player of the Year Georgina Friedrichs is the centerpiece, along with Cecilia Smith, Siokapesi Palu and Melanie Wilks.

Lori Cramer and Pauline Piliae-Rasabale maintain their grip on the full-back position, looking to build on what has already been a bumper year for both players.

The team consists of four Brumbies, 18 NSW Waratahs, seven Queensland Reds, one Melbourne Rebel and one from the Western Force.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Wallaroos Head Coach Jay Tregonning said: “We learned a lot from our last tour of New Zealand for the Pacific 4 Series, and we have adjusted this squad accordingly to continue building for the Cup. world rugby later this year.

“Key players have returned to the side after injury, and we are taking steps to ensure we have the strongest squad possible ahead of the tournament in October.

“We are excited to see what Biel (Terita) can bring to the team, she has been hugely impressive for the Aussie Sevens and her speed and skill are important attributes to add to our already strong outside backs.

“The team are looking forward to more playing time in the O’Reilly Cup to further develop our combinations and chemistry – both in Christchurch and at home in Adelaide for the first time as part of a huge double- head with the Wallabies.”

Tickets for the Wallaroos vs Black Ferns match in Adelaide are available now via Ticketek here.

Watch all the ad-free Wallaroos tests, live and on demand on Stan Sport. Start your Stan Sport free trial now.

Buildcorp Wallaroos O’Reilly Cup Squad (Tests played, team)

Iliseva Batibasaga (20 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Emily Chancellor (10 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Bree-anna Cheatham* (Queensland Reds)

Lori Cramer (9 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Piper Duck (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Georgina Friedrichs (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Grace Hamilton (20 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Eva Karpani (7 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Grace Kemp (1 selection, Brumbies)

Atasi Lafai (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Kaitlan Leaney (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Michaela Leonard (9 caps, Brumbies)

Ashley Marsters (15 caps, Melbourne Rebels)

Arabella McKenzie (9 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Layne Morgan (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Mahalia Murphy (16 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Tania Naden* (Brumbies)

Sera Naiqama (3 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Bridie O’Gorman (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Siokapesi Palu* (Brumbies)

Shannon Parry (17 caps, Queensland Reds)

Liz Patu (28 caps, Queensland Reds)

Pauline Piliae-Rasabale (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Trilleen Pomare (16 caps, Western Force)

Emily Robinson (11 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Madison Schuck (5 caps, Queensland Reds)

Cecilia Smith (3 caps, Queensland Reds)

Maya Stewart * (NSW Waratahs)

Adiana Talakai (3 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Biel Terita* (7 Australians)

Melanie Wilks* (Queensland Reds)

Ivania Wong (3 caps, Queensland Reds)

* indicates uncapped

Comments are closed.