With Davis Cup in Jordan – Part 1: Sri Lanka fighting for promotion from Group II


By Revatha S. Silva


In 1953 in The Hague, Netherlands: the very first team of Sri Lanka (then Ceylon) in Davis Cup (from left to right): Percy Ernst, Douglas Fonseka, Lionel Fonseka (Manager), Douglas Scharenguivel and Rupert Ferdinands

Based: In 1900 (121 years ago)

Founder: Dwight F. Davis

Number of teams: 18 (in the world group)

Countries: All ITF member countries *

Most recent champion: Spain (6th title)

Most titles: United States (32 titles)


Champion: 0

First year played: 1953 in Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands

Years played: 61

Links played **: 140 (67 – 73)

Years in the global group: 0

Most Total Wins: Harshana Godamanna (75-28)

Most singles matches win: Harshana Godamanna (46-17)

Most doubles matches win: Harshana Godamanna (29-11) and Rajeev Rajapakse (29-13)

Best Doubles Team: Harshana Godamanna & Rajeev Rajapakse (18-5)

Most Ties Played: Harshana Godamanna (55)

Most years played: Bernard Pinto (17) and Harshana Godamanna (17)

Youngest player: Franklyn Emmanuel (14 years and 54 days)

Oldest player: Bernard Pinto (44 years and 231 days)

* ITF = International Tennis Federation

** Tie = Meeting between two countries

The Sri Lanka Davis Cup team now in Jordan for Group III of the Asia-Oceania zone: (from left to right) Renouk Wijemanne (non-playing captain), Chathurya Nilaweera, Yasitha De Silva, Thehan Wijemanne and Vibuda Wijebandara . Photo Ishan Wanniarachchi

The main challenge facing the Sri Lankan men’s tennis team this time around at the Davis Cup, the annual international men’s tennis world cup, will be bringing the country back to Zonal Group II.

Sri Lanka are playing in Group III of the Davis Cup Asia-Oceania zone with the aim of entering the 2022 World Group II play-offs. If they want to do so, they will have to place in the top three of the nine participating countries. .

The Davis Cup is currently sponsored by Rakuten Group Inc., a Japanese e-commerce and online retail company based in Tokyo.

This year, Asia-Oceania Zone Group III will take place at the Jordanian Tennis Federation in Amman, Jordan, on outdoor hard courts today (15) through Saturday (18).

The following nine nations are in competition:

Hong Kong, Jordan, Kuwait, Malaysia, Oceania Pacific (region), Qatar, Sri Lanka, Syria and Vietnam (withdrawn: Philippines)


Three pools from three teams will compete in the round robin phase of the event. The top two teams from each pool will compete against each other, the three winners being promoted. The lowest team in each pool will be relegated to Asia-Oceania Group IV next year.

Sri Lanka team:

Yasitha De Silva, Thehan Wijemanne, Vibuda Wijebandara, Chathurya Nilaweera and non-playing captain Renouk Wijemanne

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.